We build women’s collective power in the U.S.

April 24, 2024

Ms. Foundation for Women Announces 2024 Women of Vision Awards: Seeding Solidarity & Sisterhood

The nation’s oldest women’s foundation will recognize Culture House, Lateefah Simon, grantee partners Jamarah Amani of Southern Birth Justice Network and Rhiannon Carnes of Ohio Women’s Alliance, as well as Gold Award Girl Scout Sophia Madrigal at the annual gala on May 14th 

NEW YORK, April 24, 2024 – Today, the Ms. Foundation for Women announced the honorees for the 2024 Women of Vision Awards: Seeding Solidarity & Sisterhood. This year’s annual gala will take place at the Weylin in Brooklyn, New York on May 14th, 2024 and honor leading feminist advocates, activists and thought leaders working for gender and racial equity while raising funds for the organization’s mission to build women’s collective power and center women and girls of color in philanthropy. The evening will also celebrate the Ms. Foundation’s new home in Brooklyn, New York, and recognize a powerful decade of growth for the organization under the leadership of President and CEO Teresa C. Younger. 

This year’s Woman of Vision Award honorees include:

  • Culture House: Raeshem Nijhon, Carri Twigg and Nicole Galovsky for their impactful work and commitment to diversity and inclusion across all of their projects. 
  • Grantee partner Jamarah Amani, Executive Director of Southern Birth Justice Network, for her vital role in building the birth justice movement. 
  • Grantee partner Rhiannon Carnes, Executive Director of Ohio Women’s Alliance, for her fearless dedication to reproductive justice. 

This year’s Marie C. Wilson Award honoree is:

  • Past grantee partner and nationally recognized advocate for civil rights and social justice, Lateefah Simon, President of MeadowFund, who has worked to create radical racial, gender, and criminal justice reform. Named in honor of Ms. Foundation Honorary Co-Founding Mother and former President and CEO, Marie C. Wilson, this award recognizes visionary leaders who are creating change through political organizing and advocacy.

The event will also honor emerging leader:

  • Sophia Madrigal with the Free to Be You and Me Award, which honors young activists enacting change, for her work focused on the healing power of indigenous storytelling through her Gold Award earning project with the Girl Scouts of the USA. The Gold Award is the highest award a Girl Scout can earn and recognizes girls who develop and carry out meaningful, sustainable solutions to challenges in their communities and the world.

“We are so excited to announce this year’s honorees for the Women of Vision Awards and bring our community together to remind ourselves of the power of our relationships to strengthen our potential for movement building,” said Teresa C. Younger, President and CEO of the Ms. Foundation. “Culture House, Jamarah, Rhiannon, Lateefah, and Sophia are groundbreaking feminist leaders and we are honored to be able to celebrate their work and come together to advance our collective mission of advancing racial and gender equity.”

The evening will be co-hosted by Danielle Moodie, host of iHeart’s #WokeAF Daily, co-host of the Daily Beast’s The New Abnormal and #democracyish, and Ms. Foundation Board Member, and nationally syndicated radio host Angela Yee of Way Up with Angela Yee and previously The Breakfast Club, and feature Melissa Harris-Perry, Maya Angelou Presidential Chair at Wake Forest University and award winning author. The Resistance Revival Chorus will entertain attendees with a performance during the event, and renowned DJ Mary Mac will perform a special after-party set following the awards ceremony. 

The Women of Vision Awards is the Ms. Foundation for Women’s largest annual fundraising event, honoring feminist advocates, activists, and thought-leaders who ignite policy and cultural change. For the past 51 years, the Ms. Foundation has invested more than $90 million to build grassroots movements fighting for gender equity for women, particularly women of color around the country. Since its inception, the foundation has supported over 1,600 grassroots organizations working for change on a grassroots level in order to build power and advance democracy. 

Previous Women of Vision honorees include former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, Meghan, The Duchess of Sussex, Academy Award-nominated director Ava DuVernay, Congresswoman Maxine Waters, former Editor-In-Chief of Teen Vogue Elaine Welteroth, filmmaker and activist dream hampton, the co-chairs of the Women’s March on Washington, marketing executive Bozoma Saint John, fashion icon Diane von Furstenberg, Sheila Nevins of HBO Documentary Films, Suzanne Lerner of Michael Stars, and Jennifer and Peter Buffett on behalf of the NoVo Foundation.

For more information about the event, please visit


For more than 50 years, the Ms. Foundation for Women has shaped women’s philanthropy in the United States, providing a blueprint for the establishment of hundreds of local and regional women’s funds, influencing mainstream culture through nationwide projects such as Take Our Daughters to Work Day, and making grants totaling over $90 million to more than 1,600 grassroots organizations across the country. Through research, advocacy, and grantmaking, the Ms. Foundation is the national model for sustainable, trust-based philanthropic support of women of color-led movements. With equity and inclusion as the cornerstones of true democracy, the Ms. Foundation works to create a world in which the worth and dignity of every person are valued, and power and possibility are not limited by gender, race, class, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability or age.