Skip to Content

Meet the Finalists

Voting is closed. Sunny Clifford has won the award.

Take a moment to learn about our incredible nominees and their amazing accomplishments. Each one of them is living proof that we have more to do. And with vision and persistence, we can continue to make positive progress for women.

Sunny CliffordSunny Clifford

Sunny Clifford is a 26-year-old Lakota woman who is fighting to ensure that women on Native American reservations have access to emergency contraception. Although emergency contraception is available over the counter to women 17 and older nationwide, it is often excluded from Indian Health Services clinics. Clifford began a petition on to demand that Dr. Yvette Roubideaux, the Director of Indian Health Services, issue a directive to ensure that emergency contraceptives are available on reservations upon request. The petition currently has about 115,000 signatures. Clifford was the first of eight siblings to earn a college degree. She is also the subject of the upcoming documentary Young Lakota.

FB Share Twitter

Julia BluhmJulia Bluhm and SPARK Movement 

Julia Bluhm is 15. As a feminist, she not only wants to put a stop to sexualization and stereotypes of girls in the media, but also to negative stereotypes of ballet dancers. She is a blogger for the girl-fueled SPARK Movement, which fights against sexualized images of women and girls in the media. As part of SPARK, she began a petition calling on Seventeen magazine to commit to print one unaltered photospread per month. The petition was incredibly successful, and after just a few months, Seventeen's staff signed an eight-point "Body Peace Treaty," which pledged to "never change girls' body or face shapes" and to be "totally upfront about what goes into our photoshoots."

As Julia said in a recent guest post on our blog, “I hope that women of all varieties will be given the amazing opportunities that they deserve without stereotypes or judgment getting in the way.”

FB Share Twitter

Crunk FeministsThe Crunk Feminist Collective

Energetic, insightful and provocative, the Crunk Feminist Collective is a group of individuals working to “create a space of support and camaraderie for hip-hop-generation feminists of color.” Their view of feminism is unapologetic and in your face, like crunk music. The digital community they’ve created is a space to discuss ideas and feminist goals, to fully express oneself, support one another and create fellowship between feminists. CFC organizes workshops and conferences to unite activists and organizations. In addition to on-the-ground organizing, members of the collective write blogs that reflect their feminist visions. They are champions of the possibilities of online and digital feminisms.

FB Share Twitter

The Gloria Awards: A Salute to Women of Vision

Each year, the Ms. Foundation for Women honors the remarkable achievements of trailblazing women activists and their supporters whose courage and leadership ignite change on behalf of women and communities across the country. At our annual Gloria Awards: A Salute to Women of Vision – named for activist and Ms. Foundation co-founder Gloria Steinem – we celebrate three women who have accomplished visionary change in areas such as economic justice, women's health and ending gender-based violence. Women of Vision have led successful campaigns to challenge sexism in the media, pass groundbreaking domestic workers' rights legislation, defeat draconian anti-immigrant bills and advance access to reproductive and sexual health in some of the most challenging environments nationwide.

The 2013 Gloria Awards will be held on Monday, May 13, 2013, at Cipriani 42nd Street, in New York City. The cocktail reception will begin at 6 p.m. and the awards will start at 7 p.m. This year's awards committee consists of some really exciting names, including Gloria Steinem, Olympia Dukakis and Ashley Judd. Learn more at

The People's Choice Award

Until now, Women of Vision awardees have been drawn from an inspiring pool of Ms. Foundation grantees working on the frontlines of social change. This year we have decided to mix things up and are happy to open up one award to an external candidate. We are so excited to introduce you to this year's People's Choice Gloria Award finalists!

Vote for Vision!

Voting is closed. Sunny Clifford has won the award.

Choose our first Marie C. Wilson Emerging Leader People’s Choice Award winner. 

This is one vote in which you’ll make a great choice no matter how you cast your ballot!

Vote today and share with your friends.

FB Share Twitter

Question - Required -

  Your Information




   Please leave this field empty


*You may cast one vote per email address.